Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

July 3rd, 2013 17:00

Perc 5/i Hotswappable in Linux

Hi everybody, hope y'all going well. I'm having a little issue using my Poweredge 2950. First I also own a Poweredge 1950 which runs on Oracle Linux. With this one, if I add or remove an hotswap drive (except the OS drive) the OS disk utility see it and automatically make it readable. But with the 2950 (who works with Perc 5/i), to add drive I always need to reboot the machine and enter the raid utility to set the physical disk as a virtual, and the os will see it.

The 2950 will run with CentOS and with will be use as data storage to I absolutely need to have them Hotswappable via the OS.

I tried updating the firmware but it does nothing, I know i'm not a professionnal using server but this is disturbing

Thank you for your suggestion

• 

6.2K Posts

July 3rd, 2013 18:00

Hello nicklayb

Some of our controllers are capable of operating in JBOD/Non-RAID mode. I suspect that your 1950 has one of these controllers. The controllers capable of non-RAID mode will default new HDDs to this mode and they will be seen by the OS.

The PERC 5 and most of our RAID controllers do not have a non-RAID mode. Every drive in the server must be part of a virtual disk in order for the operating system to see it. Because of this you have to configure the drives as single disk RAID 0's to be seen, or any other RAID level.

This is not something that can be corrected. It is how the card functions. The PERC 5 does not have JBOD/non-RAID functionality, so any time you add a new drive you will need to add/create a virtual disk with it to make it visible to the operating system.

Thanks

3 Posts

July 3rd, 2013 21:00