Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 18th, 2016 03:00

Dell C6100 : complete newbie

Hello,

I was planning to setup a renderfarm, using several desktops, when I stumbled across the C6100 XS23-TY3 poweredge.

At first glance, this solution would be much cheaper with faster rendertimes (according to cinebench scores). But I don't know if all the hassle, to make a C6100 up and running, is worth it.

So as I'm a total newbie, when it comes to cloud servers, I have several questions regarding the c6100.

1) When it comes to Windows OS, I suppose I have to use Windows 2008 R2 or 2012 ? What is the best/most reliable option  ?

2) I suppose I have to install Windows on each node ?

3) And does windows suffice to make the C6100 up and running, or do I need other software as well ?

4) As the C6100 has a sata controller, can I use a SSD drive instead of a SAS drive ? And if so, is it also Plug'n Play like in regular desktops or is there more to it ?

5) If I have to install software on each node, can this be done in one go, without accessing each node separately ? I'm aware that there are renderfarms, which consists of 3000 nodes or more. I can't imagine they have to remote desktop each node, in order to install a new plugin.

6) Any known issues with the C6100 ?

Many thanks in advance !

• 

8.7K Posts

July 18th, 2016 14:00

Hi,

Here is some helpful information on the C6100: http://downloads.dell.com/manuals/all-products/esuprt_ser_stor_net/esuprt_cloud_products/poweredge-c6100_setup%20guide_en-us.pdf

http://downloads.dell.com/manuals/all-products/esuprt_ser_stor_net/esuprt_cloud_products/poweredge-c6100_owner%27s%20manual_en-us.pdf

• 1. It supports Novell SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 x64 SP2 
    Red Hat Enterprise Linux 
    Microsoft® Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise SP1 and HPC Server 2008 R2 x64 SP1

Citrix® XenServer 
VMware® ESXi

2. Yes, you have to install an OS on every node.