Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

January 10th, 2013 15:00

Getting public IP of my DRAC 5

Hi All

I have a Dell PowerEdge 2950 server. I have bought and installed a DRAC 5 card in there. I am able to access it being on the same network. However, I was looking for a way to do the same over the internet. I am wondering whether its possible to register its "name" on DynDNS. Also, once I set it up with DHCP service, the server does not boot up (As it hangs after saying that: Strike F1 to retry reboot.... ). My questions:

1. Why it cannot be configured with DHCP service (With my modem router connecting to internet as the provider).

2. How is it possible (Without having a static address for its NIC) to get the public IP address of its NIC?

3. How to set it up with my DynDNS account?

I am very new to working with servers. Your help/comments will be highly appreciated.  

Best Regards,

Rahul

• 

6.2K Posts

January 10th, 2013 16:00

Hello Rahul

1. Why it cannot be configured with DHCP service (With my modem router connecting to internet as the provider).

It sounds like the DRAC is having a difficult time saving the DHCP information. I would recommend resetting the DRAC to default and attempting again. I would recommend against using a DHCP address since you need to know the IP address to the DRAC to be able to connect. If you configure it for DHCP then it could change.

2. How is it possible (Without having a static address for its NIC) to get the public IP address of its NIC?

3. How to set it up with my DynDNS account?

This functionality has nothing to do with the DRAC. This has to do with your personal network, and an understanding of how networks operate.

To accomplish what you are wanting to do then I would suggest using port forwarding on your switch/router. Here is an example of a way to configure it: