Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 21st, 2013 10:00

How should I go about lubricating these fans?

Hi there! Newbie here.

I have a Dell Poweredge SC1425 1U Rack mount server.

I use it in my home and it sits in my office on a desk - That's because I only have 1 server, so a rack would be near pointless.

It's a little loud, which I expected since its a 1U server and I can live with it, but it would be nice if it ran a little quieter. It's not like it is a whooshing of air sound, its more of a churning engine sound (which I don't think is normal).

Programs such as Speed fan and such do not work with this server, and I am sure I am using the program right since I use it on my desktop PC all the time when I feel I need a little bit more air flow.

The BIOS doesn't seem to hold any answers to fan control and an external fan controller is near impossible to keep practical with this 1U.

So I am thinking that I should lube up the fans, but I am not sure how to go about it :(

I have lubed a fan before for a friend, but I knew a lot about the fan in question (A can of WD-40 and a steady hand was all it needed to get running quiet as a mouse). I am scared I mess up this fan because I have not got much experience with server fans. I will leave a link to a pic of the fan so you can see what it is.

One method I have tried is to put socks under the corners of the server to dampen any vibrations, but that looks silly and only saved me 1 or 2 decibels (I use a decibel meter iPhone app).

If you happen to know of any programs that can help me too, fire away. It is running Windows Server 2012 64-bit.

Here is the picture:

Thank you in advance.

- Matty

3 Posts

December 31st, 2014 17:00