Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

July 9th, 2013 08:00

PE2950 RAID?

Hey all,

A friend gave me a few Dell PE2950s that he was not going to use. I have racked them and placed two 73GB HDDs in each server. I would like to stripe the install of Windows Server across these two HDDs, but cannot find a RAID utility in the BIOS of these machines. When I boot, I am prompted with "Dell SAS 5 Host Bus Adapter BIOS." I can press CTRL+C to access the SAS configuration utility, but not CTRL+R to access a RAID configuration utility.

I have researched across the Internet and have come to the (premature) conclusion that these machines do not support hardware RAID. Is this true? How can I tell if this is true for these machines?

Is there another way I can install Windows Server (striped) on two drives, making the C: drive appear as 146GB (2x 73GB)?

Thank you guys for your help, I am fairly new to the whole server business.

- Alex

7 Technologist

• 

16.3K Posts

"I can press CTRL+C to access the SAS configuration utility, but not CTRL+R to access a RAID configuration utility."

The SAS 5/6 controllers use CTRL-C to access the configuration utility.  The SAS 5/iR and 6/iR support RAID (R = RAID) and non-RAID, but the SAS 5/i does not support RAID at all.  If you do not have an option to Manage Arrays/Containers or create an integrated mirror or stripe (IM/IS), then you have the SAS 5/i.

The PERC 5/6 controllers use CTRL-R to access the configuration utility.  If you do not have a CTRL-R, then either your PERC is not working or you do not have a PERC controller.

You can purchase a PERC 5/6 and replace the SAS 5.