Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

A

November 23rd, 2005 20:00

PowerEdge 2800 bios stop - F1/F2 message

Hi, i'm a new Dell user and while starting the computer, before windows starts, the following message appears:

Press for BMC Setup within 5 sec......
Strike the F1 key to continue, F2 to run the Setup Utility.

No change was made to the Server and it has been working fine since it was bought, last April. I got in contact with Dell support and they couldn't help me. Anyone can help me?

Sorry for the English, but i'm trying to improve it.

Thanks, Anderson

13 Posts

December 18th, 2005 13:00

Anderson,

I also have a 2800 and have seen that since I started using the server about a month ago.

I'm not a techie, but I was told that it is a mgt. option for remote control.  I would not worry about it unless someone else corrects my understanding.

Good luck!

Z man

718 Posts

December 22nd, 2005 07:00

I'm surprised that Dell support can not assist you.
The BMC message is a normal display during boot.
The F1/F2 display is a prompt to indicate that all is not normal.
Do you have dual PSU and are they both powered on?

When the machine boots up after pressing have you the Dell Openmanage Server Administrator installed that can
identify the anomaly.

If not check out and install DSET at: ftp://dropbox.us.dell.com/dropbox2/ips/dset/

January 4th, 2006 18:00

The Press for BMC Setup within 5 sec...... is a normal boot-up message.
The Strike the F1 key to continue, F2 to run the Setup Utility. is not typical, and should only display when there's been an error. There's a change that the error could have scrolled off the screen, so you may need to reboot and pay attention. Once you've cleared the error, then the f1/f2 message should go away.

1 Message

February 1st, 2013 12:00