Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 23rd, 2012 17:00

PowerEdge T110 II boots to WinPE

Hello, server novice here.

I have a Dell PowerEdge T110 II server running Windows Small Business Server 2011 Essentials. Today I created a new user, and installed a few Windows Updates. Once the updates were installed I was asked to restart.

Unfortunately the server has now suddenly stopped booting to Windows SBS, and now only boots to WinPE (from what I can make out?!). Once in WinPE, a cmd screen opens, and a script runs (from an X: drive?) which asks for the username and password of my router (Netgear). I try entering the login details for my router, but the script just fails and results in the cmd screen flashing red/black intermittently with the Service Tag shown in large letters. The only option I get after this is to press 's' for a shutdown.

I have no idea how to get it to boot back into Windows SBS! Its driving me crazy!! Can anybody give me some advice on how to resolve this please?

Thanks in advance.

39 Posts

June 24th, 2012 08:00

What is the BOOT ORDER? Maybe it's service partition instead of Your OS?

6 Posts

June 24th, 2012 10:00

Thanks for the reply tomaszg. The boot order is Hard Drive (RAID1), CD Drive, Embedded NIC. I have looked through all the BIOS settings and the Boot Manager, but there doesn't appear to be an option to select which partition to load.

39 Posts

June 24th, 2012 10:00

I understand this is production server and now it's unavailable.

Maybe this sounds stupid but is there any DVD in dvd drive?

I don't understand how WinPE boots, it needs inserted medium like DVD, USB pendrive or via PXE.

Also Win2008 recovery mode looks like WinPE. Maybe it's booting into recovery mode?

Do You have iDRAC? Could You insert screenshot or photo?

39 Posts

June 24th, 2012 12:00

I hope this didn't wiped out Your whole OS!   --> is this an autowipe script?!

Looks like preinstalation OS is booted.