Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 21st, 2017 23:00

R510 Questions: iDrac Setup, OSMA, vFlash, FreeNAS

Hello all,

Thanks in advance for helping out a complete newbie to server architecture. I'm an experienced custom desktop PC builder for almost two decades, but I recently purchased a used R510 and have realized I have much to learn! This server is being used in my home, not a business setting.

Objectives: 

• Setup remote management, as this system will be headless once installed in a rack
  • Install FreeNAS on mirrored 2.5" HDD's in the internal drive caddy
  • Use all 12 front 3.5" drive bays for 8TB WD Reds, this will be my FreeNAS array

Background:

Here's an ongoing thread I have over at the FreeNAS forums, in case it is useful for reference, or anyone is trying to emulate what I'm attempting and find it useful reading.

Here's a link to my Dell Service Tag so you can see how the server was configured from Dell. 

The server currently is setup in a RAID configuration using the H700 with 10 drives combined into a single virtual drive. That drive has Windows Server 2016 Standard installed and activated on it. There's also an iDrac Enterprise card installed. 

Questions:

• My goal is to place this server in a rack, but still want to keep an eye on thermals, power consumption, software updates and so forth over my home network. Once configured, I want to make the system completely headless.

The system already has iDrac Enterprise card installed, but no vFlash SD card. I'd like to make a backup of the server's current system configuration before I make any changes to it. There are 10 Dell SAS HDD's (lower capacity than the WD Red's I want to use for FreeNAS) currently installed with the RAID config for Windows Server 2016.

• Is there any easy way to export this current hardware configuration via USB thumb drive before I remove all the Dell drives and swap them out with the WD Reds?