Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

August 8th, 2018 00:00

R610 SD card not detected by vFlash

Hi and thanks for your attention:

Sorry for which maybe is a noob question, but this situation is driving me nuts. I'll very appreciate if someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm an instructor in a free school that mainly gives courses to people that can't afford to pay from them. We're currently offering free IT courses and part of the training consists in server configuration, mainly Dells since they're very popular here in Spain.

I'm trying to configure the vFlash of a PowerEdge R610 but with no success.

As per my (apparently limited) understanding, I must be able to manage the card from the vFlash tab in iDRAC.

To summarize the problem:

• SD Card Reader Module installed: RN354 W/ Cable KY386
  • iDRAC6 Enterprise w/ Lifecycle Controller
  • 16GB Class 10 SD Card inserted on the RN354
  • iDRAC 6 did not recognizes the card (vFlash tab in iDRAC reports "SD card not detected. Please insert an SD card of size 256MB or greater.")
  • SD is a standard, non vFlash (without overprovisioning) so iDRAC must be able to use at least 256MB (but doesn't)
  • SD card is recognized by the OS (Server 2012 R2) and can be partitioned / formatted using DISKPART
  • All firmware are updated to the latest version (BIOS 6.6.0 July 24 2018, iDRAC 2.91, Jun 28 2018)

Hope that someone can help me with this. Thanks in advance.

4 Operator

• 

3K Posts

August 13th, 2018 03:00

Part# RN354 is not for iDRAC vFlash. If you insert SD card on this it will be visible to the operating system. iDRAC will not be able view or manage SD card inserted to above part. For vFlash you need to install SD card on iDRAC Enterprise card. You can find a SD card slot above iDRAC dedicated network port. This is used for vFlash.

August 12th, 2018 11:00

Seems that I'm not alone with this problem: I have EXACTLY the same problem with my R610 (Home Lab)