Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 20th, 2017 02:00

Can't install new OS on Dell PowerEdge 750/850/2850

Hey everybody,

I recently purchased 14x server computers for a grand total of $50 altogether. Now, the computers are a mix of HP Proliants and Dell PowerEdges. I'm no expert at server computers, so obviously I've had trouble installing an Operating System.

The previous owner had a Linux RedHat Enterprise on the Dell PowerEdge 750s, 850s, and 2850s. I've tried installing Windows Server 2003 & Windows Server 2008 R2 over the top of it, with no luck. The issue I'm receiving is the server computer not detecting any bootable media on my ISO disc, which I burnt the OS ISO file onto. I haven't updated the computers since receiving them, and they clearly haven't seen any use for years.

So, how can I boot off the ISO disc? (I'm also new to RAID, so if anyone could give me a clear set of instructions on what to do that would be very much appreciated.)

Thanks!

• 

6.2K Posts

August 21st, 2017 11:00

Hello

Microsoft did not include SAS/SCSI drivers in their operating systems until Windows Server 2008. Any previous versions would require that you manually install the RAID controller driver. Older operating systems also require that the driver be loaded from a floppy disk.

2008 and later may not include the necessary drivers for all RAID controllers. If your controller is not recognized then your will need to manually install the driver. Also, drives attached to a RAID controller will not be presented to the operating system unless they are in a virtual disk or non-RAID mode if the controller supports non-RAID.

(I'm also new to RAID, so if anyone could give me a clear set of instructions on what to do that would be very much appreciated

You should be able to find manuals for our storage controllers here:

www.dell.com/support/home/products/ser_stor_net/dell_adapters

Thanks

4 Posts

August 21st, 2017 16:00