Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 21st, 2010 07:00

How to set up direct-attached MD3200i load balancing

I'd like to connect an MD3200i (with two raid controllers) to one of our Windows 2003 R2 servers without using a switch.

After browsing most of the documentation, some things remain unclear to me. I'm new to multipath/load-balancing, and can't figuer out how to set this up.

Is it possible to connect 1 host nic to raid controller 0, and another host nic to raid controller 1, and then aggregate the bandwith? Thus having 2Gbs instead of 1Gbs? Or is this only a redundant path sollution, that switches to the other controller if the first line fails.How do i set this up in terms of IP addresses, subnets. And where is the load balancing configuered. Is this explained anywhere in the documentation? I can't seem to find it. I've found some examples that include the use of a switch, but none with direct-attached sollutions.

What I would like to do is connect 4 UTP cables from the MD3200i to the host. 2 in the upper raid controller and 2 in the lower raid controller. And using load balancing in such a way that i have 4x1Gbs, resulting in a 4Gbs connection to one partition on the MD3200i.

Thanks for any help.

154 Posts

October 21st, 2010 09:00

Multipathing and load balancing in windows 2003 is handled by the MPIO driver that is installed when you install the "host" or "full" version install of the MD Storage Manager. There is no need to separately aggregate the NICs to get aggregated bandwith. The driver, by default, uses round robin on all ports connected to a single controller.