Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 7th, 2008 07:00

Replication Manager on VMWare Hosts (on Symmetrix)

All,

Firstly I am not a SAN expert (handled by another org.) and secondly I'm tearing my hair out trying to configure EMC Replciation Manager!!!

Some background...
We have a Symmetrix DMX3 SAN, which I have a two Windows 2003 Server VMs connected (no PowerPath, etc. only using SolutionsEnabler 6.5 and the same Gatekeep drive on both VMs). Using TimeFinder Cloning.

What I am trying to do is to clone a source RDM LUN from VM1 and present it to VM2. Unfortunately when I do this I receive the error "1 devices that are not visible on the mount host" and the EMC RM clone job fails.

This is how the VMs are configured (all using latets SolutionsEnabler software and in EMC RM Console the Symmetrix SAN is correctly detected)....

VM1
Hard Disk 1 - Virutal Disk (not being cloned)
Hard Disk 2 - Mapped RAW LUN (e.g. called 0BDF - source LUN being cloned)
This VM sees both LUNs in Windows and can access both.

VM2
Hard Disk 1 - Virutal Disk (not being cloned)
Hard Disk 2 - Mapped RAW LUN (e.g. called 0BEF - target cloned LUN)
This VM sees both LUNs in Windows and can access both.

In EMC Replication Manager Console
Hosts:
VM1 - Windows 2003 (Agent version: 5100)
VM2 - Windows 2003 (Agent version: 5100)
Application Sets (named: Test)
Objects: VM1 - File Systems - Z:\

Storage Pools (named: Cloning Pool)
Device: 26_0BF7, 1110001110, Not In Use, 136GB, bcv
(Storage Array is not named 1110001110, but it is the name of our storage array)
Storage Services
1110001110 - device:
26_0BF7, Not in Use, 136GB, BCV, Local Clone, Local TFClone, SAN Copy

My Problem!
When I create a Job to clone the VM1 Z:\ drive to VM2 it fails constantly on the message ".... After removing 0 in use devices, 1 devices that are not visible on the mount host..." - but there is 1 RDM device visible on the mount host (VM2)?