Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

December 9th, 2007 13:00

CD/DVD burning software

I'm a consultant and use my laptop for business.  I specifically order a Dell Vostro 1000 with CD/DVD buring capability. I also did not want the hassle of incompatibility problems with the operating system, so I specified Windows XP.  The problem is that the machine has the burning hardware but does NOT come with the software.  Customer service calls resulted in the answer that indeed it does NOT come with the software.  However, they would connect me with the ordering department and they would sell me the software.  How about if I sold you a new car but it did not come with a gas tank?  You had the hardware (vehicle) but it would not drive without purchasing the gas tank (software) so that it could function as purchased.

I called customer service and just wanted to return the computer since it did not operate as advertised on the Dell website.  The rep talked with his supervisor and agreed to send me the software "at no charge" and gave me a confirmation number.  Ten days later, still no package.  A second call to customer service and I find out my order has been "put on hold for cancellation".  Again a promise to mail the software and a new confirmation number.

The truth is I really like my laptop but need it to be functional for my business.  I'm now willing to purchase the software with my own money but need advice on the best software that works on this laptop.  Extensive reading online makes me very afraid of Roxio and Nero software.  Ain't the internet great?  I'm not interested in bells and whistles, just software that WORKS and will not crash my system.

57 Posts

December 10th, 2007 18:00