Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 17th, 2014 11:00

Help with Unisphere for VMAX REST API

Hello,

I'm trying to use the REST API to U4V. I'm fairly new to REST but I *have* done some amount of programming against other REST APIs. I took a look at the U4V REST API Programmer's Guide and I am stumped. That document doesn't seem like it has the kind of information I need to get started.

I compiled the RESTApiTest java program and ran it against my U4V instance but basically got nothing back.

I feel like I need more of a "Hello World" type of example vs. something that tries to pull back performance metrics using iterators that I don't fully understand.

Can anyone give me some simple, basic steps to pull back basic information from my VMAX? Ideally, I'd like to use a browser REST plug-in to play with the various calls vs. writing a program but either way, I need some hand-holding to get started.

Thanks,

Tom

20 Posts

January 20th, 2014 15:00

Hi Sean,

Thanks very much for the pointer to the blog post and the information therein! That really helped me get started. I also got connected with a guy who helped me understand the XSD schema files so I can understand how to build the URLs and payloads to send to get other info. I've now got a small Python script working that does some simple GETs and POSTs.

Thanks again for the info,

Tom

PS - I figured I'd post the script I wrote here in the hopes it will help someone else get started. All the usual caveats apply of course (I don't claim that this script does anything...). You'll need to supply your own , , , and .

#!/usr/bin/python

import requests

import json

from requests.auth import HTTPBasicAuth

# Define some connection info

unimaxURI = 'https:// :8443/univmax/restapi'

username = ' '

password = ' '

symmId = ' '

# A simple class to do GETs and POSTs and return a dict with the result

class u4vRest: