Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 4th, 2012 10:00

How to Change LUN ID

I am very new to EMC products and I need some very simple help.  I am trying to configure Cisco UCS blades to boot from a VNX5300 SAN using FC on a Nexus 5000.  I have configured the UCS all the way to the VNX, and have created the boot LUNs for each blade, but I can not figure out how to change the LUN ID to 0 for ESXi.  I know with other storage you can create the LUN, then go into its properties and change it, but I can not find that option, the LUN ID is not editable.  Also, I when I try to add the host it wants the IP of the host, how can I add the IP of the host that isn't configured yet??  Thank you for the help.

2 Posts

September 4th, 2012 11:00

Storage Pools and Storage Groups, I didn't catch the difference but I see it now.  Okay, I figured out how to set 1 of the boot LUNs to LUN ID 0, but I can not get all of them configured to ID 0 in the same Storage Group, is this normal??  THe better question might be what is the best pratice for setting up ESXi to boot from SAN on this VNX system.  Also, how do I add the Hosts without having valid IPs for them yet??  Thank you.

1.4K Posts

September 4th, 2012 11:00

To see what the Host LUN ID is compared to the CLARiiON LUN ID, you must bring up Navisphere/Unisphere Manager and go into the Host properties. The Storage tab displays the CLARiiON LUN ID and the Host LUN ID.  

To change the Host LUN ID you must remove the LUN from the Storage Group and re-add it back into the Storage Group. Before applying it, you must slide over to the last column to the right and click in the field. You will then get a drop-down menu to set the Host LUN ID to what you want it to be. 

Note: This is a disruptive operation. The host will not have access to the LUN while it is removed from the Storage Group.

Please, refer KB Article: 116197.

1.4K Posts

September 4th, 2012 12:00