Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 3rd, 2018 14:00

No operating system, but have Dell USB media

Ok, so I made a bad choice and decided after all else had failed to force the bios update with less then 10% battery left. This was because it would not charge, ordered three new chargers from Dell and battery tests at 92% health . anyways my issue is, the puppy disinfected the cord while doing so and now I have the NO OPERATING SYSTEM screen, I have a USB restore media from Dell off of my previous Inspiron 11 3147. Which is also the same model I have now. I place the usb in and get to recovery, but it cannot reset nor restore. I go to command prompt and I reach the Adminstrative X:windows\system32\cms.exe . I have done diskpart to search for disk drive C: however while doing so I noticed I have 465GB drive with 462GB free. So (and I'm assuming this because I'm not tech savvy at all) I assume my drive got wiped somehow. Under the X:windows\system32> I did the( dir ) and see that everything there looks good. My question is, can I copy this to a new vol and make it my C: or can I somehow get the USB to a really install my operating system somehow? Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am no longer under warranty although this was a rent to own laptop brand new and only paid it off as of April so would figure it would still be in warranty.

4 Operator

• 

11.1K Posts

January 4th, 2018 07:00

so what is this X:windows\system32 that it keeps taking me to when I go into command prompt from the recovery options? And if all my info is on that drive, why can I not just copy it and make a C: drive? I know this is all sounding pretty stupid but hey, how else can ya learn?

Also, any ideas on how to reformat my USB? it somehow is write protected now and it wont let me change the attributes.

Thanks again for all your help, I really appreciate it!

1. To be able to access your data files on that hard drive, you can either