Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 26th, 2006 01:00

Question on XPS 410 (Reformating)

Hey guys, I'm new to this whole forum thing and all and I've been searching for a direct answer to a few questions I have regarding reformating the XPS 410, so I decided to ask it here. There are some threads here on this subject that kinda give the answer I'm looking for but not exactly. If I reformat my hard drive and delete the partitions Dell has, will it void any warranty or prevent me from returning the computer if I decided to do so? I ask this because I know of the problems the 410 has been having and the computer may wind up not being the one for me. I really hope this isn't the case though, I really like the XPS 410 model. Also, should I download the critical update the dell site offers for the chipset or do I just use the utilities and drivers CD after installation? I would like to know what to download and what not to download for I dont want to add extra stuff yet don't want to not download an update of importance. Any help would be appreciated, I got my 410 and am eager to set it up the way I want, but I don't want to do so if there are negative consequences.

(On another note, was the XPS 410 case always white? I would have sworn this whole time the case was grey, I was kinda shocked to see it wasn't...ok now I'm just babbling :P)

99 Posts

October 26th, 2006 03:00

FYI...I am assuming Policy has not changed since I accidentally reformatted my partion back int he day and called for support.  The tech wasn't happy about the loss of the diag drive but luckily I still had my resources cd so we could continue forward with the troubleshooting of the bad drive :)

99 Posts