Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

August 3rd, 2015 08:00

Unable to connect to the server

Unable to connect to the server

Okay i realize that yall are probably so sick of hearing about this but I need some help.
I can't get this to work at all. Ive tried using the auto discovery option, also tried using the RDP option. I have a professional XP SP 3, I have allowed for remote access, I am an administrator so I know thats not the problem. I have tried running the auto discovery and when that happens, I get kicked off the physical laptop, but then the Droid asks me to login, and I do, but there is just a black screen. So then I tried the RDP way and set up a static IP address on my D-Link router, just like it says. I used the exact ports that it suggests, 3389 I believe. Well obviously it isn't working. Please help me, because I have tried many different remote access programs, including remote desktop, and this one is much cheaper and more user friendly so id much rather use it. thanks.

1) My computer has a username and password and i put that, but no its just a home laptop.
2) I only have one? Well I have a desktop but it isn't wireless? should i try that?
3) it says success.

Quote Originally Posted by daniel View Post

It would be helpful if you can try connecting from another PC to rule out any RDP issues.
One additional thing that might help us try reproduce your problem is if you can send us a detailed list of your settings (resolutions, RDP Performance Tuning settings, etc)
In the mean time while we troubleshoot this you could also install a Free VNC server on your windows Machine so you can connect using VNC
what exact details will you need? I hate to call myself a noob or anything, but not sure what exactly will be helpful to you.

925 Posts

Is the autoconnection grayed out on your device? 
Can you please make sure your remote desktop settings on desktop is " allow computer running any version of rdp"