Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 20th, 2021 20:00

XPS 8930, BIOS inaccessible

I bought the XPS 8930 08/2020 with ITB NVME boot drive and 64GB of memory. No method of entering the BIOS setup works on this machine - you just get a black screen with a lit keyboard. This screamer has an i9, so I figured it would pass Windows-11 compatibility test, but it failed because the TPM module was not found (must not be enabled in the BIOS). Since there is no way to view/change BIOS settings, it looks like I'll have to settle for Windows-10 with this very expensive machine.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I've been an embedded programmer for 35+ years who is very familiar with PCs (Windows and LInux) but after trying all the video options that this machine has, all produce the same result (black BIOS display). Motherboard HDMI, and NVIDIA DP and HDMI - none worked - and of course the warranty expired a few months ago.

10 Elder

• 

44.3K Posts

October 25th, 2021 10:00

HP...? I think you meant Dell...

I know I've asked before, but please confirm, first, that Legacy Option ROM is disabled in BIOS setup and, second, see if TPM is or can now be enabled. Be sure to save the changes, if any, before exiting setup.

You may want to clear BIOS by pulling the motherboard battery, pressing/holding the power button for ~30 sec, and reinstalling the battery. Then power on and go into BIOS setup and check the Legacy Option ROM and TPM settings again.

I suspect if BIOS 1.1.18 is already installed, it may not let you try to reinstall it again from your USB stick via the F12 menu. You'd have to put the BIOS Recovery file on your USB stick, plug that into the PC with power off, and then launch BIOS Recovery. If the process can't find a suitable recovery image on your boot drive, it should let you use the file on the USB stick:

• Restart the computer.
  • Press and hold the CTRL + ESC key on the keyboard until the BIOS Recovery page appears.