Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

March 15th, 2018 10:00

Dell XPS13 9350 Screen flicker and distortion

Hi all,

I'm really at my wit's end with this problem I've been having with my XPS13, and was wondering if anyone else has had an experience like this, or could offer me any advice. As a student, I'm not exactly swimming in cash, and really want to try and solve this issue myself before diving into any astronomically expensive repairs. (Since I'm already one replacement LCD deep)

I think it could be a firmware or driver issue, but I don't really know where to begin and would really appreciate any sort of nudge in the right direction on this!

Because pictures speak louder than words: Video

Basically, the screen flickers and distorts erratically, rendering the laptop completely unusable.

Laptop spec: Dell XPS 13 - 9350 with QHD screen, purchased July 2016.

Problem: The issue started to appear in August 2017, literally 2 weeks after my warranty expired, completely out of the blue. Screen flickers and distorts, even pre-boot, or in BIOS.

Attempted fixes: I have reinstalled Windows 10 numerous times, and updated drivers, firmware, and BIOS. Re-seated cables, replaced LCD, installed linux based OS,

Thinking it to be a hardware issue, I re-seated the LCD cable, as well as touch screen connection. Having conferred with 2 different computer technicians as well as Dell tech support, we concluded this to be an issue with the LCD. I was quoted 920 euros for the LCD replacement by Dell, so instead decided to have a replacement OEM screen (complete top half of laptop) installed by a local technician. (note: I also performed the pre-boot LCD diagnostic, which was showing the same issue)

The issue persisted! Having reached peak frustration, I didn't use the laptop for about a month as I didn't really know what to do with it.