Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

February 27th, 2018 07:00

XPS 13 9370 and external 4K monitor.

I have tried asking this question in multiple places on the Dell web, but everybody dodges.  Not a good sign!  And it is a simple question...

I am a Software developer who travels often.  Currently I lug around an MSI Apache 17” for the power and the screen space.  I think the new XPS 13 could be the first Ultra that has the power I need, but much easier to carry when travelling. If I carry a portable display, maybe I can have the best of both worlds!

BUT, wt home I have an AOC 42inch 4K monitor (3840 X 2160), and I want it running at 60fps, not 30. 

The XPS 13 uses a Integrated Intel 620 GPU, but I cannot find definitive information on the internet to tell me what its maximum resolution/frame rate is.  The TB16 specs suggests it can output to a 4K monitor, but I suspect that still requires a graphics chip that can support the 4K resolution.

Before I buy this combination, can someone please confirm that it will drive my external monitor at 3840 X 2160 and 60fps.

4 Operator

• 

14K Posts

February 27th, 2018 08:00

Yes, it will do 4K at 60 Hz, in fact it will do dual 4K 60 Hz with the right connectivity.  Fyi, Intel GPUs since the HD Graphics 4600 that were included with 4th gen Core chips have supported 4K at 60 Hz, and the XPS 13 9370 uses an 8th gen Core chip.  You will however need to use one of the following outputs to achieve that resolution and refresh combination:

- USB-C to DisplayPort dongle/cable
- USB-C to HDMI 2.0 dongle/cable
- Thunderbolt 3 to Dual DisplayPort adapter (can run 2x 4K 60 Hz displays this way)
- USB-C DisplayPort MST hub
- Thunderbolt 3 dock such as the TB16 (can run 2x 4K 60 Hz displays this way)

The WD15 will not work, nor will USB-C adapters/dongles that offer video as well as other functionality such as USB-A ports, card readers, Ethernet etc.

4 Operator

• 

14K Posts