UNSOLVED

Toddman214

updated

9 years ago

T

Toddman214

2 Intern

146 Posts

0

1074

February 20th, 2018 12:00

Duplicate recovery options question

This is a general question about recovery options with Networker. So, there are multiple options, but my main question is about these two options -

1) Discard recovered file

2) Overwrite existing file

My question is, for example, when I am recovering over an existing folder containing multiple files, I may only want the files overwritten that changed since the last backup. But, if I use the "discard recovered file" option, will that option only look at the file name, and skip that file, or will it look at the "modified" date as well, determine that it is not the exact same file, and go ahead and recover that version, regardless of the duplicate file name?

The overwrite existing file, will simply overwrite all of the other files again with the same file, whether there's been any change or not, right?

In other works, which option is best if all I want to do us run a restore against an existing directory, to restore only files added or changed since the last backup.

Thanks.

Todd

p.s. This data changes multiple times per day, and Im about to move it from its shares on a physical server to a new location. I want to take a quick backup and restore those changes to the new location, right before the cutover, so that the data stays accurate. There is an issue with the old physical server that is preventing the use of Robocopy (or any UNC access) so I am using Networker.