Announcement Banner
UNSOLVED

p033692

updated

17 years ago

P

p033692

6 Posts

0

689

February 12th, 2010 12:00

disk group configuration different after delete dev

On my DMX3 I had nine disk groups from initial setup, numbered 0 through 8.  Each disk group contained either 300GB 10k drives or 146GB 15k drives, and a couple disk groups contained some of each.  As I needed to create devices I would specify the disk group I wanted to use within the symconfigure command.

Recently I have cleaned up somewhat, deleting about 100 unmapped devices not being used.  I have been using the symconfigure delete dev command to do this.

I notice now that I no longer have devices spread across all nine disk groups, but rather all devices show up in disk group 0 only, and disk groups 1 through 8 are empty.  Both symmdisk list -disk_group # and symmdev list -disk_group # give similar results:  only disk group 0 returns entries and the other disk groups appear empty.

How is that possible?  I thought only a bin change could alter disk groups, and I have not had a bin change in over a year.  Can disks be "condensed" into a single group?  Is the Symmetrix doing some optimizing?  Should I even care?

Thanks for any info.