UNSOLVED

carplips

updated

20 years ago

C

carplips

6 Posts

0

9821

May 22nd, 2006 20:00

PC Restore

I called Dell support because I just noticed that I never received operating disks with my purchase.  Customer support informed me that they no longer send them because than a PC Restore function, in which all you need to do is Ctrl F11 and it wil restore y our PC back to original settings.  I tried this and nothing happens.  I frequently get frustrated with the telephone support so thought I might post hear to see if anyone has heard of this PC Restore function and if so why does it not work on my new computer?
  • Ziggywigs

    113 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 22nd, 2006 21:00

    Hi you need to reboot your pc and keep tapping on F11 from the minute it starts loading this will take you to the safe mode and then you can use the restore from here.

    Ziggy.
  • Ziggywigs

    113 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 22nd, 2006 21:00

    I should also have said that you can find it by using the start - search - all files and folders facility...mine is in documents and settings/all users i guess your will be too.

    Z
  • carplips

    6 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 12:00

    Is it Ctrl F11 or just F11???  Also I was understanding that the F11 was the PC Restore but the Ctrl F8 was to run in Safe Mode?
  • Ziggywigs

    113 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 16:00

    Sorry my mistake it's F8 for safe mode which will allow you to do a system restore in safe mode, however, beware if you restore in safe mode it doesn't create a restore point so you won't be able to undo any changes.

    You may be better off using it in the standard mode and accessing via the start-search-files and folders and when you click on the system restore file it will give you the wizard and guide you through. That way if you don't like the changes that have been made you can undo. Anything that was added after the restore date won't work and will need to be reinstalled.

    System Restore can be used to restore your computer to a previous state, if a problem occurs, without losing your personal data files (such as Microsoft Word documents, browsing history, drawings, favorites, or e-mail). System Restore monitors changes to the system and some application files, and it automatically creates easily identified restore points. These restore points allow you to revert the system to a previous time. They are created daily and at the time of significant system events (such as when an application or driver is installed). You can also create and name your own restore points at any time.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Ziggy.
  • carplips

    6 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 17:00

    Ziggy,

    My system restore is not working, does not let me go back in time (months) so that is why I want to try the PC Restore.   So you are saying the PC Restore has file name?  I searched files and folders under PCRESTORE and came up empty.  Do you know what the name of the file is??

  • carplips

    6 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 18:00

    Ziggy,
     
    I guess, I may have not understood the Dell support person.  I had asked for my Operating Discs that I never got with my purchase.  He said that is because the Ctrl F11 function will does the same thing as restoring your operating system and that is why they do not send the discs any more. 
     
    I was understanding that Restore System and PC Restore where 2 different function? 
     
    As I was saying before, my Restore System is not functioning becuase of a virus and with previous computers, I have crashed and rebuilt from the discs, however this time I have no discs and the Ctrol F11 function does not work like the Dell support person said.
     
     
  • Ziggywigs

    113 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 18:00

    The PC restore folder is known as 'system restore' and you should search for this - you should find the folder with that name and it will give you the wizard when you open the folder. This will give you 3 options,Restore computer to an earlier time,create a restore point or undo my last restoration. Select the restore my computer to an earlier time and click on next. The next screen will show you a calendar and the dates in bold are your restore dates which the computer has remembered when you have changed something, click on one of the dates and on the right it will give you a list of the times and what you changed....select a date and time to restore to when you want the PC to be restored to and click next, (the wizard will prompt you at each stage) and the PC will restore and then reboot to the earlier time.

    If you don't have any dates in bold this would suggest that you haven't any restore dates stored and it could be that your restore facility may be switched off but this can be switched on again by going to the system restore settings in the system restore folder (first page)unchecking the 'turn off system' restore box.

    Ziggy
  • Ziggywigs

    113 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 18:00

    I have read on the forum that other users have had the same problem with the Reinstall - here's a link which might help:

    The Decision Tree walks you through reinstalling the operating system on a Dell system and includes software reinstall guides. Wizard consist of a series of steps. At each step, you will see an instruction and/or a set of choices. Follow the instructions and respond to the choices to move through the steps.

    Each time you select a choice, the wizard "branches" into a different path based on your selection, this can be useful if you have to contact a Dell Technician at the end of it so keep a note of the journal number.

    http://support.dell.com/support/topics/global.aspx/support/software_reinstall/en/index?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs

    Hope this helps.

    Ziggy
  • trailrated1

    86 Posts

    590

    0

    Posted May 23rd, 2006 22:00

    You need to hold down the Ctrl then the F-11 and release them at the same time during boot up.If done wrong you will get a keyboard error.I have had to attempt several times to access if you dont release at the right time.Ideally you should hit them when the lights on your keyboard blink at bootup.This will restore to an as shipped state and anything you want to keep should be backed up before a restore as you will lose everything.
  • deelo_t

    2 Posts

    87

    0

    Posted May 27th, 2006 04:00

    Thanks for the info! this really helped me out. when i called support, they didnt even tell me they had a system restore outside the OS.