Once we upgrade to Vista from XP Media will we still have the reinstall to factory specs that we have now? Will we have a factory reinstall with XP or Vista? This aspect I havent seen addressed anywhere. Im under the assumption the factory reinstall will no longer be available for your use. By the way I have a XPS410 with XP Media with the Vista upgrade just a week old.
There's nothing physically preventing you from reloading to factory... but as far as the Dell Express Upgrade goes, I dont know if their license prohibits reverting back to XP.
A "normal" upgrade OS prohibits reusing the original os on a 2nd machine but I dont recall it saying you couldnt revert back to that OS instead of the new one.
If we can do the fatory install after the upgrade which has been configured to Vista with vista on, I wonder how we do the original factory install with XP Media after all changes have been made for vista. Any Ideas on this? would hate to loose the ablility to do the fresh as it came to me install.
I have a few questions regarding your upgrade. I also own a XPS410 w/Media Ctr Edtion. I'm awaiting my express upgrade to Vista premium. Did everything go smoothly? Did you do upgrade or clean install? I have Norton security 2006, so far it's not compatible with Vista, I hope Norton will provide a revision. If you upgraded were all your files intact? What about drivers? Do I have to find new drivers ? Or does Vista do this as part of the upgrading process? Thanks in advance.
I have not upgraded yet and Im not going to upgrade untill I find out if my original factory settings will be in tact for reinstalation if I need it. I dont want any problems if I need to do my factory settings over. Sorry I dont trust Microsofts stable systems let alone a new operating system. This is due to previous preformance Ive been tru all systems since original DOS:smileymad:
jtzako
108 Posts
196
0
Posted January 25th, 2007 14:00
A "normal" upgrade OS prohibits reusing the original os on a 2nd machine but I dont recall it saying you couldnt revert back to that OS instead of the new one.