Unsolved
This post is more than 5 years old
10 Posts
0
1031
June 27th, 2011 04:00
System Restore and Recovery Partition
Windows 7 - Home Premium SP1 - 64 Bit
I've just been looking at my System Restore Configuration and I notice that it is turned on for the Recovery Partition
Is this necessary and if so - what is the Default % ?
Thanks
No Events found!


DELL-Jesse L
Moderator
•
17.9K Posts
•
69K Points
0
June 27th, 2011 09:00
Buttercup99,
System Restore is different from the Dell Factory Restore. System restore is within Windows while the Factory Restore is assessible from the F8 menu while booting up. You should leave the system restore on in case you have an issue and need to go back a day or 2 before the issue occurred; without losing all your data. Using the Dell Factory Restore will totally wipe the system of any programs you may have installed. It will put it back to factory conditions.
Buttercup99
10 Posts
0
June 27th, 2011 10:00
Thanks for your Reply
Yes, I understand the difference betwween the Windows System Restore (System Protection) and the Dell Factory Restore
I have System Restore monitoring my C: Drive - on which is the OS
What I'm wondering is whether it is necessary for the Windows System Restore to be monitoring the Dell Restore Partition since I imagine that is Read only and not subjrct to alteration?
Do other people have the Windows System Restore monitoring the Dell Restore Partition and if so what Max Usage % is it Set to?