mciernia

updated

11 years ago

M

mciernia

8 Posts

1

6268

February 8th, 2016 05:00

downgrade DD OS or new install

I have upgraded my DD OS from 5.4 to 5.6 but didn't check ddboost compatibility matrix. I have Networker 8.1 SP3 and this software  have ddboost plugin that works only up to DD OS 5.5. So I have to downgrade OS to 5.5 or install OS from scratch, but I have no idea how to do both.

Marek

  • jbrooksuk

    208 Posts

    3935

    0

    Posted February 8th, 2016 06:00

    You cannot back rev DDOS code, you will need to re-install OS from scratch and that will destroy all data stored.

    You should raise a support call, assuming you cannot upgrade Networker instead.

    Regards, Jonathan

  • nithin_s

    13 Posts

    3935

    1

    Posted February 8th, 2016 06:00

    You need a DD-OS downgrade kit to downgrade the DDOS as I understand and when I had a similar issue, it was basically a fresh OS install. It's not as easy like an upgrade.

  • mciernia

    8 Posts

    3935

    0

    Posted February 8th, 2016 09:00

    Thanks for your reply.

    ---

    Marek Cierniak

    W dniu 2016-02-08 16:00, nithin_s napisał(a):

    ECN

    DOWNGRADE DD OS OR NEW INSTALL

    reply from nithin_s in Data Domain - View the full discussion

  • mciernia

    8 Posts

    3935

    0

    Posted February 8th, 2016 09:00

    Thanks for your reply.

    ---

    Marek Cierniak

    W dniu 2016-02-08 15:37, jbrooksuk napisał(a):

    ECN

    DOWNGRADE DD OS OR NEW INSTALL

    reply from jbrooksuk in Data Domain - View the full discussion

  • ble1

    6 Operator

    14354 Posts

    56186 Points

    3935

    0

    Posted February 9th, 2016 04:00

    I was always hoping there might be trick as with system upgrade history I see that always different partition is selected between sequential upgrades.  Therefore I thought one can easily rollback (given that difference between index structure between releases is not big or can be discarded).

  • Vakil

    1 Rookie

    35 Posts

    3935

    0

    Posted February 9th, 2016 04:00

    Downgrading DD OS means wipe out all data

    Sent from my iPhone

  • ble1

    6 Operator

    14354 Posts

    56186 Points

    3935

    0

    Posted February 9th, 2016 04:00

    Pity. If I were unfortunate OP, I would rather update NW where there are issues (and left it as it is where they are none). Temporary, you can disable client direct in NW and that will do the trick too until you find your next steps.