filea, fileb, filec exist on a PFS, and a checkpoint is taken. Each file is 10G in size. Total savvol space allocated for PFS is 5GB. Size of PFS is 500GB, with HWM=90% and maxsavsize=200G.
After creating a checkpoint, filea, fileb, and filec are deleted from the PFS. Should i expect the savvol to inflate right away?
the savvol is set to 1% of 500GB, which is 5GB, so it is set to that and would not be able to hold the 30GB worth of deletes, i thought. Hence, it would trip the 90% HWM, and invoke an auto-grow, which is set to go to 200GB max. Regardless of the amount of increments it uses to auto-extend, i thought the savvol should inflate itself to around 30GB to hold all the deletes, per the settings.
By default your savvol should have started at 20GB since your PFS is >= 20GB. From there, I expansion should happen in 128MB chunks up to the maximum size.
You are saying you have 30GB of files that are deleted after the checkpoint is created.
Here are my assumptions:
You started with a file system that had no checkpoints.
You created the 30GB of files.
You then created a single checkpoint, and the savvol started with < 30GB of space.
You then deleted the 30GB of files.
That there is sufficient room for the savvol to expand.
That would mean that those 30GB of files would have to reside in the savvol so that you could recover them. You would not have sufficient space in the savvol with 5GB or the more typical 20GB so the space would need to expand from it underlying pool. So, assuming there is space in that underlying pool, the savvol should expand to accomodate those files. If there is not sufficient space for the savvol to expand, then the checkpoint would be deleted anyway and the savvol would not have expanded, but the checkpoint would not exist either.
If any of my assumptions are not true, then the results could be different.
No, the savvol usage is not going to reflect deleted files immediately
This is COFW – changes are written to the savvol when a block gets changed
Its is NOT a Windows recycle bin
If you were to open the file and overwrite its contents yes
If you delete a file then on the file system only the directory entry gets deleted plus a few bits that the previously used data blocks for that file are now available again.
Only this small amount of metadata will get copied to the savvol.
The deleted file’s data block’s will get copied there at the time they are re-used by another file.
Depending on the size of the file system that might take a while.
That is quite right. I have been validating this prior to your reply, by copying a lot of new blocks to the PFS, and can see the 20GB extensions for auto-grow kick-in.
AdamFox
254 Posts
548
0
Posted October 7th, 2013 10:00
I would expect that.