UNSOLVED

wmtW1BHxGX12559

updated

14 years ago

W

wmtW1BHxGX12559

1 Rookie

•

100 Posts

0

1612

November 14th, 2012 06:00

BUG? Tape library - shared drive in use

Like in the picture below, when all of tapes our out of the tape drives, the message "Shared drive in use" is still there. This behaviour is after update from 7.6.4 to 8.0.0.4. Before, after all is emptied, Messages were "Ready", or something like this...

jukebox1.jpg

  • ble1

    6 Operator

    •

    14354 Posts

    •

    56186 Points

    930

    0

    Posted November 14th, 2012 10:00

    Does it affect operations with drives or it is just cosmetic and misleading?

  • 930

    0

    Posted November 14th, 2012 20:00

    Hello,

    Right click on each of the tape drive, disable them and enable them back.

  • wmtW1BHxGX12559

    1 Rookie

    •

    100 Posts

    930

    0

    Posted November 14th, 2012 23:00

    Yes, that cleaned up this message, but only to the moment when you start using that drive again. After re-using it, this message appears, and remains after use. So, the "problem" remains.

  • wmtW1BHxGX12559

    1 Rookie

    •

    100 Posts

    930

    0

    Posted November 14th, 2012 23:00

    It is just cosmetics. Drives are OK, but it can be confusing for the viewer.

  • 930

    0

    Posted November 14th, 2012 23:00

    Hello,

    I think you are correct. But to get rid of the incorrect message, you would have to disable and enable the drives. Or even a mount and unmount operation of one of the tapes on the drives might correct it.

  • 930

    0

    Posted November 15th, 2012 02:00

    When you say "re-use", do you mean even after you mounted and unmounted the tape from the drive? When drive 1 is shared between the storage nodes A and B, and a tape is mounted on the drive instance of storage node A, the one for the node B would show as "shared drive in use".

  • wmtW1BHxGX12559

    1 Rookie

    •

    100 Posts

    930

    0

    Posted November 15th, 2012 03:00

    Yes, when I mount and unmount, "Shared drive in use" remains.

  • coganb

    736 Posts

    930

    1

    Posted November 16th, 2012 02:00

    Hi Zlatko,

    This bug has already been spotted and is being worked on by EMC Engineering (reference NW144497 "DDS jukebox message/status field displays "shared drive in use" when the shared drive is not in use").   You can open a Service Request quoting this reference and follow up on it.  If you do open an SR, it is likely to encourage the engineers to bump this up the priority list a bit, but this is only a cosmetic error so you might not want to bother.

    -Bobby

  • Bebo2k

    544 Posts

    930

    0

    Posted November 16th, 2012 02:00

    It seems to me a Bug with the NMC, I didnt face that problem before , but as the drives working perfectly with no issues in the operation, so it is a GUI bug. Please open a service request with EMC support to check that misleading message.

    Please update us with the case progress.

    Ahmed Bahaa