
UNSOLVED
Dell Support 3.0 Tips/Questions
Guys,
I got the Dell Support 3.0 utility through automatic download last night. I have some tips and some questions: (Feel free to add to this list.)
TIPS:
1.) If you are going to download or Dell Support 3.0 has auto downloaded and you see it in the Programs List on the Start Menu,
PLEASE RIGHT-CLICK ON VERSION 2.0 IF IT IS IN YOUR SYSTEM TRAY TO EXIT OUT OF THE PROGRAM BEFORE RESTARTING TO INSTALL VERSION 3.0. PLEASE NOTE THAT YOU CAN EXIT OUT OF VERSION 2.0 OR 3.0 BY RIGHT-CLICKING AND SELECTING EXIT. This may be helpful for other software installations or any times when you do not want Dell Support to be running in the background.
* Version 2.0 of Dell Support is indicated by an exclamation mark "!" in your system tray. Version 3.0 is indicated by a capital "E" in your system tray, pointing at an upward right angle.*
2.) If you see
BOTH Dell Support 2.0 and 3.0 in your system tray, exit out of both of them by right-clicking on the icons and selecting exit, THAN try restarting your computer. If it all possible, try to have 2.0 get out of your system through the automatic update. By exiting out of 2.0 before downloading or installing 3.0, this can be a help.
3.) You still have total control over what Dell Support 2.0 and 3.0 gives you. If you are totally unsure about a message, click the
"Don't show this message again." or save it for later so that you can ask about it before having it try to "fix" something that you don't know what it is fixing. Dell Support 3.0 is a computer help utility, NOT a magic bullet or "cure all." Get help on the boards if you are unsure about a message
Now, some questions:
1.) If users close out of a message, by X'ing out, will that message still be avaiable for review on the next session?
2.) This is an important question, Let's say that you change your settings because you DON'T want to be reminded of sending your session logs to Dell. If the program is configured in this way, what happens to your session messages? Are they than sent to Dell or not sent?
Jack
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-11-2005 11:53 AM
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-11-2005 12:22 PM
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-11-2005 01:21 PM
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-11-2005 01:42 PM
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-12-2005 10:46 PM
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-12-2005 10:46 PM
Message Edited by Jack 1000 on 06-12-2005 10:47 PM
Responses (1)
Solutions (0)

Lorac30
92 Posts
113
0
Posted June 11th, 2005 17:00
Thanks for these tips Jack. I only wish I had seen them a few hours earlier!! (See my post a couple down from your's.. Lorac 30.. re: Settings) Had I known it would automatically d/l, I would have uninstalled Version 2.0 first. I removed it through Add/Remove. It didn't remove at first. Had I not decided to reboot, I believe it would still be there. I finally figured out about the download's... now it's a matter of what to do with setting's .. and what it ALL means!! :smileyhappy: . In actuality.. I'm not smiling about this whole Support 3 thing!!
But thanks anyway for your post..
Carol