I have successfully migrated several LUNs from one Unity system to another, but I need to cleanup the replication sessions. I performed a Failover with Sync from the source Unity and all storage is online and running normally.
My question is how to properly cleanup the replication sessions. My only option seems to be to select a specific replication session and choose the delete trashcan. The following warning is given:
Deleting this object will also delete any associated objects.
Are you sure you want to delete replication_session_name?
My concern is that I don't know if the resultant LUNs at the destination site are considered to be "associated objects".
When you delete the replication sessions, the underlying storage devices themselves are not deleted, in this case, your LUNs.
If you failed over with sync already, then what was previously the "destination" is now the production side, and your hosts should be now running from here.
May I ask, what Unity OE version are you running on both sides?
Both sites are currently running 4.3.1. Everything is running fine at the destination site. I just needed to clean up the unneeded replication sessions, but was concerned by the potential of removing the LUNs as part of the process. The removal of the replication sessions doesn't seem to be documented anywhere that I've found.
The sessions can be deleted, yes. Of if you want, the sessions can be resumed in the reverse direction (old source becomes dest, and old dest becomes source)
When I said I couldn't find it in the documentation, I meant the Configuring replication guide and the online help. Nothing I've found defines what "associated objects" means or walks through the deletion of the replication session. There are sections for setting it up, reversing, and resuming, but nothing that goes through the deletion process.
I could just create a new test LUN, replicate it, then fail it over and do a deletion of the replication session, but I was hoping someone could point me to something in the documentation that I've somehow missed up to now or maybe a doc that I just haven't found.
Not sure you will find anything saying explicitly what those "associated objects" are. But like Rainer said, they are internal objects only, not user objects.
So to be absolutely clear: your LUNs/FSs will not be affected when you delete the replication session only.
AndreD Dell
Moderator
•
239 Posts
2749
0
Posted November 27th, 2018 00:00
Hi david.summers@heart.org,
When you delete the replication sessions, the underlying storage devices themselves are not deleted, in this case, your LUNs.
If you failed over with sync already, then what was previously the "destination" is now the production side, and your hosts should be now running from here.
May I ask, what Unity OE version are you running on both sides?
Thanks
Andre @ Dell EMC