When you save your pit file, any credentials are encrypted using the local machineencryption keys. When the pit file is copied to another computer, its local keys are unable to unencrypt the password because its keys are different. In other words, passwords are local to the machine where they are saved. To get around this, simply remove the username, password, and domain fields and uncheck the SAVE CREDENTIALS checkbox.
This will keep the encrypted password from being saved into the pit file and you can then copy it over to the other machine and then enter the username and pwd locally.
Interestingly, the "Enable credentials pass-through on this computer" doesn't set any attrbutes within the pit file. It too is local to the machine where the checkbox is checked. It actually enables the PNSSO Network Provider that provides the credential pass-through. So that checkbox is toggling local registry entries, not attributes in the pit file.
The "Save As..." persists the configuration from all of the tabs at the time you click the button. So proceed as follows:
1) Fill in the Credentials on the second tabs as you note in your paragraph 2.
2) Configure "Connectivity..." to the Broker and then drop the Application listbox down and select your desired app.
3) With the app showing in the drop-down, go back over to the credenital tabs and remove the username, password, domain, and uncheck the save credentials checkbox.
4) Configure any other settings you desire on the Display, Local Resources, & Experience tabs
5) Click the General tab and now click "Save As..." and save your .pit file
Because you've selected the app while authenticating, the app will be saved, but because you cleared the encrypted values from the Credentials tabs, they will not be saved and you can now copy the pit over to the new client machine without getting the encryption errors.
sader82
43 Posts
1091
0
Posted May 31st, 2013 11:00
Hi Terry,
I found the solution. I created a case with David.
It turnsout that the 7.6 client I use the option "enable Credentials Pass-Through" was not saved. And that part is fixed in vWorkspace 8.0.
thnx for your help