This post is more than 5 years old

4 Posts

1184

December 1st, 2008 18:00

Using System Restore from 1st time forum user

Questions about Dell System Restore and my interpretation of what it says -- If my post is missing something or not done correctly, please also advise of that.

1) Is it true that using it will revert the system back to previous date/restore point but no document files, emails, favorites, address book, etc. will be deleted meaning don't need to back them up first?

2) Says changes made using it are completely reversible if the result is not as desired? e.g., Say you now, Dec. 1, have WMP11. You had WMP10 on Nov. 14, downloaded WMP11 on Nov. 15, and now restore to Nov. 12. After a reboot, you should now show WMP10 right? But don't like results of the restore so do the "competely reversible thing. Will you then really have WMP11 now?

3) Regarding s/w updates -- Nov. 15 you downloaded a new Java update. Today Sys-restored to Nov. 12 when Java operated with the prior update. You want to stay with the "restored" point for some other benefit. Do you then need to again get that Java update you made on Nov. 15?

4) Finally, again today restored to Nov. 15. On Nov. 19, you did a virus/spyware scan and were forced to clean/delete what was detected, and that was apparently successful. After doing the restore to Nov. 15 when you had the virus will that virus somehow also reinfect or again be present on system? 

Dell XPS400, Pentium D 2.8GHz DualCore, XP 2005 MC Prof., 1GB Ram, 160GB HD.

Thank you.

3.6K Posts

December 1st, 2008 18:00

1)Yes,all documents,emails,favorites etc...are saved and exported.

2)This is if you use a restore point.Using dells system restore to  out of the box,no.If you use a restore point,you can revert this back to a previous time or change this,it is simply a restore point saved as the registry changes.Using dell system restore,this will revert the PC to the way it came from dell,no apps.,no favorites,etc..

3)Yes you will have to get the java update again,it has been restored back to a prior time so the new update has not happened yet.

4)Yes the virus will still be present,as you have not cleaned it yet due to using restore point to previous time.Playing around with the restore points can be some what painful of a learning proccess.You will need to try and remember what you had at a previous time,if you are going to keep going back back and fourth like that,especially if you have a virus present.

4 Posts

December 1st, 2008 22:00

Thanks,

5) If you click "turn off system restore" will you lose ALL system restore points including "out of box" point, and so the list is gone forever, and restore points are then only created again, all new ones, when unclicking "t-o-s-r"? Doing so means can't ever restore back to any points that existed before "t-o-s-r" was clicked? If so, any other consequences I'm overlooking?

6) I have read that when you need to clean or delete a virus, if you don't "t-o-s-r" first, the virus clean or delete will not be effective at eradicating and you will still get detections of those same ones next time you run your virus and/or spyware scan. Is this TRUE??   Other consequences?

7) For my further forum use convenience, where to add my PC info so it automatically shows when I post? 

No Events found!

Top