Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 1st, 2020 11:00

Aurora R11, RTX 3090, compatible?

Hello, I have an Alienware R11, and am considering upgrading the graphics card to an RTX 3090, I have a Dual RTx 2070 Super right now. will the Rtx 3090 fit, will it work, can it be connected to my current rig?

5 Posts

September 2nd, 2020 11:00

@_person_ This is my first post, and I'm still new to PC gaming.  So please bare with me.  Also my post is referring to the Founders Edition Ampere cards, not after market ones.  I haven't done any reserch on them, and thus, can not speak on them

After doing some research last night and today, I have come to this conclusion.  It seems that the only Ampere card that will fit in the R11, will be the RTX 3070.  It is the only 30 series card that is short enough in length to fit.  I remember reading that the overall card length that could fit in the R11, had to be 280mm or shorter.  Anything longer would hit the fans in the front of the case.  The RTX 3070 is only 242mm long according to Nvidia's website.  When it comes to the width, the RTX 3070 is actually narrower that the founders edition RTX 2080ti. So assuming that the RTX 20 series graphics cars that Alienware is putting into the R11 aren't narrower than the Founders Edition graphics cards, the RTX 3070 should fit. (Just for reference the RTX 3070 is 112mm wide.) Also it is two slots thick. So there is no problem there either.

As far as power is concerned the RTX 3070 requires one PCIe 8pin.  The 1000W PSU has four (6+2) connectors if I remember correctly, and the 500w PSU has two (6+2) pin connectors.  However 500w might not be enough power. The 1000w will be more than enough though.