Start a Conversation

Unsolved

H

8 Posts

July 5th, 2020 00:00

Aurora R9, preparing to replace fans

Hi everyone, I got an air cooling Aurora R9 for over 7 months and finally my wife has had enough with this super jet vacuum noise, so do I tbh. So I just want it to be as quiet as possible.

I have basic knowledge about PC hardware, and now I understand that I can (1) replace the CPU_FAN and TOP_FAN with a Corsair H60, and replace whatever fan that comes with H60 with a Corsair ML 120 Pro. (2) replace the FRONT_FAN with another Corsair ML 120 Pro.

So I looked them up in Amazon.jp(I live in Japan), and there are 2 models of ML 120 Pro, FN1040 and FN 1041; there are also 2 models for H60, FN920 and FN1190(2018). I'm not sure which two fit.

Which two should I buy? Did I make any mistakes? Or are there any better options to make it quieter? Thousand thanks!

5 Practitioner

• 

274.2K Posts

July 5th, 2020 10:00

@Hal_0008 

There is only Corsair H60 model listed on the Corsair web site US; Hydro Series™ H60 (2018) 120mm Liquid CPU Cooler.  Perhaps you could post links?

You only need one Corsair ML120 PRO (no LED, no RGB). This would be used with the radiator and connected to mobo TOP FAN. You can use the Corsair SP Series fan that comes with the H60 to replace your lower front intake fan.

8 Posts

July 5th, 2020 19:00

Got it, I'll try the newest models then. Though delivery in Japan is so freaking slow, may arrive 2 weeks later. Thank you! 

8 Posts

July 5th, 2020 19:00

I'll go with one ML 120 Pro then. Much thanks!

53 Posts

July 7th, 2020 21:00

@Anonymous 

Does it make a big difference in noise level to replace the front fan? Sometimes I am not sure if the fan noise comes from GPU fans or the front fan. 

8 Wizard

• 

17K Posts

July 8th, 2020 00:00

Does it make a big difference in noise level to replace the front fan? Sometimes I am not sure if the fan noise comes from GPU fans or the front fan.

=============