Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

June 21st, 2014 18:00

Alienware X51. PC to TV problem

I'm using a 42 inch Vizio as my monitor to save money but I don't think this PC is running on the GTX 745 graphics card. I'm using the HDMI port at the top of the tower to connect to the TV. I have little knowledge about this stuff but I believe the silver panel ports at the bottom are my graphics card ports. The PC did not come with any cords to connect to anything. 

Can someone fix this setup for me? 

I've come to the conclusion that it's not working due to a game where the images where "blocky" and they told me to go to NVIDIA control panel but when I clicked it, it said you are not using a display attached to the GPU. 

10 Posts

June 22nd, 2014 14:00

The HDMI port on the top, rear of your PC is tied to the Intel HD Graphics that are integrated with the newer Core i-series processors. It will output to full HD but will not provide the type of graphics one would want for intensive gaming. You are correct that the ports at the bottom, rear of your PC come from your distinct graphics card, this is where you should connect your TV for the best graphics results. If your X51 is like mine, the HDMI port on the graphics card is blocked; however, you should have a DisplayPort on the back (looks similar to a large USB port, but one corner is angled instead of squared off). You can purchase a simple DisplayPort to HDMI adapter from Amazon for about $11.00 (I bought and use this one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005BV75SI/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i01?ie=UTF8&psc=1) which will allow you to connect your X51 to your TV for the best possible graphics performance with the least amount of settings tweaking or other hassles. I hope this helps. :-)

1.8K Posts

June 23rd, 2014 12:00

Hi!