Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

S

April 7th, 2016 23:00

Alienware17 R3 Graphics Issues Fix

Hello all.

I am new to the Alienware family as I have just purchased my first Alienware 17 R3 Laptop. I previously owned Asus ROG systems and found them very reliable not having many issues. I purchased my R3 manufacturer refurbished for AUD$2999.99 so I was looking forward to having the same experience that I did with my ROG systems. System Specs:

CPU: i7 6820hk @ 2.7GHz

Ram: 16G

GPU: Nvidia GTX 980m 8g, Intel(R) 530 Integrated Graphics

Storage: 512 SSD, 1Tb HDD

For a similar ROG system it would have cost me AUD$1500 more but with 64g Ram so I chose the R3 due to the price and did not need the overkill of 64g Ram. Upon Boot up, everything was normal. I installed updates and noticed a few issues that the seller appeared to get wrong like missing Alienware standard software, the OS installed on the HDD and not the SSD. the software was an easy fix but I decided to test the power of my new toy and loaded up The Witcher 3. to my disappointment, having owned the machine for not more than half an hour, I was witnessing graphics issues such as pixel spots, lines, tears and possibly every ugly glitch that you could think of. The game was unplayable so I assumed that the game files on my external HD were corrupt so I tried booting up Batlefield 4. Same issues with this game. The R3 didn't even want to load Dragon Age Inquisition. I found similar issues across various other games had including Fallout 4, Skyrim, Mortal Kombat X. I was very disappointed and deflated that in no more than an hour, I maybe looking at a lemon.