After several attempts to reinstall the OS using 2 different USB drives provided by support, I am still left with a non-functioning Respawn software and the recovery partition ( *:RECOVERY NTFS 10.20GB) is visible in explorer as a Y drive. Can't I just delete OR merge the partition with the CS partition ? Support does not understand my question and insists that the Recovery partition is not visible EVEN when they remote into my machine and see it. They do not know what to do. It's not so much the 10.2GB that bugs me - it's the fact that it's visible no matter what I do. Any thoughts ?
Side note: There is also a (* drive FAT 39.19 MB that does not have anything on it. Support has no idea. This partition is not visible in explorer.
This is a 3 week old Alienware X51.
Clean reinstallation of operating system would erase a file which would make 16GB Factory image inaccessible.
You can delete the partition and merge it with the active partition, so that it can use that space for data storage.
Refer the following links which has steps to merge a partition:
****NOTE: Back up data before performing the above process.
Let me know how it goes.
Thanks for the info, but just as an added note, when I view the "recovery" drive through Partition Manager it shows it is "Active & Boot". The CS drive only shows as "Active". Still ok to merge them ?