Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

September 8th, 2012 04:00

x51 GPU & sound problems

I got my x51 a day ago and after setting it up all seemed fine untill i started playing microsoft flight i had the settings on high and when trying to play it wasint havint it and was running really bad, so i looked online and saw that it was prob not using the gtx 660 but using the intergrated and saw that using the HDMI on the gtx 660 should solve that so i did a restart and hooked the hdmi into the gtx and bootd up and this is where the problems started the windows start up sound was all muffeld and messed up and the mouse was really laggy so i went to shut down but then everything froze,

after doing a hard reset it booted up ok but still with the messed up sound but this time i couldint get past the windows loading icon it kept freezing so im really worrying now that it maybe my gpu thats messed up i started the pc up this moring witht the hdmi in the intregrated port and it started up fine but i cant play games

32 Posts

September 8th, 2012 07:00

Hi mate i have similar problems my thread is here

en.community.dell.com/.../19465337.aspx

still no fix for mine yet, dunno what is best to do here, i am using the DVI > VGA adapter that came with mine to hook up my 27" LG FLATRON

have you only used the hdmi ports?

September 8th, 2012 08:00

shinobi61  on yours you said something about noise is it like a faint knocking noise becouse i seem tobe getting that now and havint noticed it before

32 Posts

yea i get a wierd fan noise which i think is the gpu fan,  sounds like someone took out the GPU, dropped it and put it back in, i also atm have a grands worth of tech that performs like my cell phone.

yeah just hdmi about to try uninstaling and reinstaling the drivers,