Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

August 24th, 2010 23:00

Can I control the lifecycle of object in Atmos

I am a newbie in Atmos,  and I have several questions about retention.

1.  It's unclear to me how long my object will be kept in Atmos,  will it not be deleted before I delete it explicitly?

2.  Can I control the object's lifecycle by set some meta when I create it? For example, if I want to keep my object for 1 month,  can I set some metadata when I create it and it will be deleted automatically 1 month later?

222 Posts

August 25th, 2010 06:00

Gonzalez,

Your object will be kept in Atmos until you delete it or it is deleted by a policy configured through the Atmos management user interface.  Most of our service provider partners who host an Atmos-based public cloud are unlikely to implement a delete policy --- that's only likely where Atmos is deployed on-premise in a customer's datacenter. 

Yes, metadata can be used to determine the storage policies applied to an object.  You will need a corresponding policy to be created in Atmos that manages the object based on a given metadata value. 

Raj

6 Posts

August 25th, 2010 08:00

Hi Raj,

Should you describe how to create a policy in more details? I am using Atmos Online, and I can log on the management page(https://mgmt.atmosonline.com/), but I don't find any operation related to create a policy. Do I have to connect Atmos Online support if I want to create a policy? If I can create one in this page,  could you tell me how to do it?

Thanks a lot.

222 Posts

August 30th, 2010 07:00

Gonzalez,

Sorry, I was describing the systems management portion of Atmos that allows admins to define policies.  This is generally targeted at storage administrators of the Atmos system rather than end-user developers and customers.