Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

October 18th, 2017 08:00

NS20 critical issue

Background:

I'm a computer systems engineer and a network administrator. I was given this NAS by a company when they upgraded. I am familiar with other NAS servers but I have never worked with EMC. I installed it in my rack at home and got everything up and running.

Issue:

I started configuring the device and long story short, I (stupidly) changed the IP addresses of the SPs via Navisphere. They rebooted and I obviously lost connection to them. After that happened and the NAS Control Station was rebooted, I could no longer access the web management page. I was able to access Navisphere by connecting a laptop to the 'wrench' port on the data mover and assigning the laptop an IP on the same subnet as the new SP IP. I changed the IPs to be on the same subnet as the Control Station via http://[ip]/setup. After that, I could no longer connect to the SPs via Nivisphere with the old or new IPs.

Then I (really stupidly) tried to reinstall the Control Station OS thinking that would allow me to get the web management page working again. Now, I'm stuck with the installation failing because it cannot access the back end storage.

I'm pretty sure now I have to run a back end cleanup on the SPs (and find a way to change the IP addresses back) to get the reinstall to work. I read a post about it but then realised that my partial installation of the control station does not have any of the NAS directories (ie nas_raid or nasmcd) because the install would not complete without the back end storage.

At this point, I cannot access Navisphere or the control station management page. I can get to the serial CLI of the control station and I can ping the control station IP address.