Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 12th, 2013 08:00

emc ds24m2 please help, cant find any info on how to access or configure

I inherited this mess from someone no longer involved.  I need to know where i can download utils etc as well as most importantly accessing and configuration of it.  of course no logon creds were passed to me before the person left.  any help will truly be appreciated.

4K Posts

November 12th, 2013 23:00

EMC DS-24M2 is OEMed by Brocade. You can get the switch password recovery guide on their support site: Services and Support - Brocade

After you reset its password, you can configure the device either by Telnet or WebTools, and even Serial cable if you don't know the IP address.

6 Posts

November 13th, 2013 06:00

thanks much for the help!  I found this on another site as i couldnt find it on the brocade site....do the instructions below look accurate to you?  I plan to use a serial connection.  I am an IT pro but not a switch guru.  (I have zoned a silkworm or two years ago.)  Do I HAVE to flush the nvram to reset the password?  If  flushing nvram is necessary for the  pw reset then will that wipe out any installed licenses or just configurations? Thanks again in advance!

How Reset Password for EMC DS-24 M2 Switch

Connection Setup (HyperTerminal or Putty):

• 115200 baud rate
  • HW flow control

Login to the switch using EMC password which is "spider" in reverse
then using command

::PM ON

This will enable you to privileged mode then set switch to offline mode

::pcpswoff

Then flush the nvram of the switch

::pcpnvreset

This command will flush its nvram

Now you can login using its default admin password

default password

::Admin
::Password

6 Posts

November 13th, 2013 11:00