Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 7th, 2016 14:00

Exporting / Importing VTL "tapes" as files

I am relatively new to DD.  I apologize if this has been asked, but I can't seem to find an answer here.

I have seen DD presented as a VTL over FC.  My question is: is there any way to access the underlying "files" that make up the VTL?  I am sort of assuming each virtual tape in the library is represented by an actual file in a pool or volume of some kind on the DD.  Is there any way to access those underlying files and copy them on/off of the DD?  Sort of like a VTL Tape export/import routine, but to file instead of to another tape.  Is it possible to access the VTL files vis SCP, NFS, CIFS, FTP, anything?

TIA!

-Josh

14.3K Posts

April 8th, 2016 02:00

It is possible, but not recommended and certainly not by design.  Each tape is I believe one file if I remember correctly.  To move around stuff is not allowed as you might break things so forget about it.  I suspect your vtl is used by some application and if you wish to move data from one tape to another use application to do that.  Beneath DD will do it quickly and both DD and application will be aware of the change.

2 Posts

April 8th, 2016 11:00

Thanks for your help and advice.  I get that it would be unsupported and not advisable - my use case is lengthy and unimportant to the discussion.  Let's assume I don't have a choice: DD is my only VTL option, and I have to be able to move the virtual tapes on and off DD for something unavoidable, like a compliance policy that corporate just won't change, etc.  Stick with me on "possible" if you will.  I don't need the "how" right now, just consensus that it can be done.

If I understand correctly then, there are means to copy the VTL files off the DD box using some kind of file sharing based transfer?  I didn't think you could share the VTL volume back out, as say CIFS?