Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 13th, 2011 22:00

An open letter to anyone at Dell

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am writing this letter to you on a 6 year old, hand-me-down, Toshiba laptop. I am using this laptop because it still functions reliably, while the same cannot be said of my Dell XPS 630i desktop computer.

First, I will provide a bit of my background experience, so you may better understand my level of frustration at my unresolved technical support issue. I have several years of customer service experience, as a Service Advisor for both BMW and Honda. Additionally, I also worked for WorldCom, as a Network Control Technician (hardware troubleshooter), so I have experience in both end-user and technical support.

In February 2009, I purchased a Dell XPS 630i desktop, as it was regarded as one of the premier gaming/performance computers available. Its technical capabilities far exceeded my needs for a desktop computer, as I only planned to use it for general-purpose computing, and occasional gaming. However, I felt it was the best choice for me, as it was overbuilt for my use, and therefore would not require replacement for many years. I also liked the fact that the system architecture would allow for easy hardware upgrades, if ever they were needed.

The system ran virtually trouble-free, until 11/3/2011. At this time, the system crashed while in use, resulting in a frozen screen image, constant looping sound through the speakers, and unresponsive inputs through the mouse and keyboard. After attempting to correct the problem by updating the drivers and BIOS, the system crashed permanently, and would not boot; the BIOS screen did not even display after the system powered up.