Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 3rd, 2011 23:00

Graphics Card Upgrade Dell XPS 730

Hi guys, not sure if I'm in the right place as it's my first time on the forum. I am about to upgrade my video card from an ATI Radeon HD 3870 x2 to a MSI GTX 560-TI Twin Frozr II OC:

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=193_1193&products_id=16578

I just wanted to check with you guys if it will work ok on my machine? Any help would be appreciated.

Dell XPS 730
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66MHz
MB: Dell 0UU795 Nvidia nForce 790i Ultra SLI
RAM: Elpida PC3-8500U 4GB (2x2GB)
HDD's:  Samsung F3 1TB (System & Apps) - Samsung F1 500GB (Backup)
PSU: Dell 1KW
Audio: Internal: Creative SB X-Fi, External: Mackie Onyx 400F.
Monitor: Dell 2209WA 22" 1680x1050

1.7K Posts

April 4th, 2011 06:00

I don't see any problem at all with it working.  Just make sure you clean out the ATI driver and software before installing the new Nvidia card.  I'm not sure if your older Q9450 will hold you back a bit or not with this card.  It is still a good CPU though so I would not be too concerned about it.  

April 4th, 2011 21:00

Thanks for that JMichael much appreciated. I never even thought for a second that the CPU might pose an issue. So I'm gathering you're saying the Q9450 might struggle a little keeping up with the GTX 560-Ti OC? Do you think overclocking the CPU might alleviate any probs maybe? I was considering doing this anyway, nothing crazy, maybe just a little push up to 3GHz/3.2GHz or something but I'm still learning the ropes when it comes to overclocking. Do you think I'd get away with a mild overclock on air? I have the standard heatsink that came with the XPS 730 or should I look into an after market cooler?. Or if that's not a good idea, do you think hunting around for another CPU might be a better option , if so, any recommendations that would give the GTX 560-Ti OC room to get to it's full potential?