Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

A

February 24th, 2014 10:00

New XPS 8700 - Icky GPU? Possibly Faulty Motherboard? User error? Opinions?

Hello,

I was really excited to get my new Dell XPS 8700 last week, especially at the price I got it for. I didn't get to unbox it and set it up until the weekend. I have the previous model as well, XPS 8500, which I have been lovingly using for quite a while now and have had no problems with whatsoever. When I started to use my XPS 8700, I was expecting a different experience (a better one, hopefully). Instead, I get confusion and disappointment.

The first thing I always do is make the recovery DVDs before I do anything else. I generate a copy in DVD format, and then I will do a USB copy as well, just in case.

Then, I started playing around with the computer and getting familiar with Windows 8 again. I have a Windows 8 laptop, but, don't really use it that often unless I'm lounging around doing nothing. I do most of my work on the desktop. I go online and start watching YouTube and a few other websites and I notice that the video quality doesn't seem to the same, especially videos and clips that I have saved on external drives. Streaming video from the net will stall (but audio keeps playing) and then will eventually catches up to itself. I think this is weird. I know I didn't get the best GPU with the tower, but, it should be able to handle to at least handle YouTube.

I made a bunch of upgrades to my XPS 8500 over the past couple of years, and since they were compatible with the 8700, I decided to migrate them over. 32GB of RAM, Blu-ray drives, and a 250GB Samsung EVO mSATA SSD.