Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 17th, 2008 08:00

XPS 730x General Hardware Discussion thread

Use this linked thread in the Desktop FAQ to discuss XPS 730x hardware and performance tweaks and issues.

1 Rookie

• 

46 Posts

May 29th, 2009 00:00

Hello, I am interested in overclocking my i7 940 air cooled 730x.

I have NO knowledge of over clocking and was looking to start and was hoping if someone could post some settings or things i can do to start overlcocking my i7 940.

I see many setting in BIOS but i do not want to touch anything at the moment seeing as how i do not have any knowledge of what is what. I have read thru all the posts but many are running a H2C system. So i was hoping for some setting on a air cooled 940 if possible, or just a little help.

Thanks to everyone also for there help on prevoius questions and thanks also for the advice and knowledge found on this thread it has been really helpfull!

One last thing, my bios is 1.0.0, should i upgread to 1.0.2? just curious if i should, has anything changed that you know of?

look back 10 or so posts.

30 Posts

May 29th, 2009 19:00

ok well i looked around regarding overclocking the 730x i7 940 air cooled system. I actually seen a youtube video from a dell tech and also on a few forums about what needs to be adjusted in BIOS, problem is the parts i seen in the video are not options in my BIOS 1.0.2

In the video he states to adjust the CORE CPU 1, 2, 3, and 4 to 24 or 26? for all 4 cores, but i do not have the option to do that? is this because mine is the i7 940 and not the overclocked model?

Anyways, the only setting i changed was BClK and i set that to 160 ( it was at 133 ) my system now reports at 3.46 ghz with temps at 33c-35c

Now is that all i needed to do? or is there something else that needs to be set? Also, do i remain with the 6gb of Dells ram? or should i go with something better like corsair dominator?  or is there another you suggest?