Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

M

March 4th, 2003 04:00

my dell computer is funning really slow what can i do to make it faster im new at this computer stuff and know nuffen about it so please make it as simpile as u can

117 Posts

March 4th, 2003 12:00

Here are some simple tips.

Defragment your hard drive often - The Disk Defragmenter can be launched if you open My Computer, right click on your C: drive, select Properties, then go to the Tools tab. Select your hard drive and click Defragment. It might take a while to do, but you can use your PC when it is running.. it will just run slow until the defragment completes.

Download Adaware 6.0 - http://www.lavasoft.de/software/adaware/ has Adaware, which will scan your computer for programs running in the background that monitor your internet surfing. These kinds of programs can slow down your PC.

I can go into more detail about how to turn off unnecessary Services or remove programs from your startup configuration (namely some  useless Dell-provided apps), but you should try the first two things listed above first.

515 Posts

March 5th, 2003 19:00

Munkwho

See this: http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/help_faq#post

It came fom this: http://forums.us.dell.com/supportforums/help_faq

Then post back with some info and someone probably can get you going.

John

64 Posts

March 7th, 2003 12:00

Munkwho,

If you follow Caredywn's advice on Disk Scan and Defragmenter and spyware/adware protection and do these things weekly, you should not run into some of the problems that others experience by letting these important functions go unperformed for weeks.

If you have something like Norton's SystemWorks, you can perform the disk scanning and defragmenting on a daily basis and keep your machine running at top-notch performance.