Highlighted
RickA3
Copper

Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

I'm using a Precision T3400 with a Core 2 Duo E6550. Windows XP SP3 runs fine, but I've discovered some problems with the diagnostics that appear to be related to BIOS A11.

When I select Diagnostics from the F12 boot menu, the system locks up almost immediately at the start of the PSA. Here's the error message:

Running MATS Test
Test Result : System Error
Error Code: 2000-0111
Msg: CPU 0 : General Protection Exception Occurred

When I boot a diagnostics CD (ver. 1322.1) most of the tests pass, but some of the processor and system board tests cause the system to lock up. All the multiprocessor cache tests cause the following error:

Exception occurred in module MPCACHE.MDM file "IOAPICSP.asm". Line 1645!

For the system board, the I/O APIC MP Test causes the following error:

Exception occurred in module IOAPIC.MDM file "IOAPICSP.asm". Line 2918!

I reverted from BIOS A11 to A09 and all these problems went away.

Just thought someone might like to know.

 

0 Kudos
70 Replies
RoHe
Diamond

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

I flagged this thread for the forum Liasions. They may be able to get the Dell techies to look at BIOS A11.

I suppose it's possible you just had a bad flash update to A11 and reverting to A09 replaced that faulty update. I'm not suggesting you try A11 again. There's always a (small) chance that a BIOS update will brick the motherboard, so it's not worth the risk to you.

And in general, it's not worth updating BIOS unless the new version fixes a problem that you actually have. In other words, if it ain't broke, don't break it!

Ron

Ron

Forum Member since 2004
I am not a Dell employee

0 Kudos
RickA3
Copper

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

Thanks for the reply, Ron. I actually did try to reflash A11 again after I ran into the problem. It didn't change anything.

The funny thing is that I was running A11 for a couple of months (having updated to it directly from A1). It seems to run XP Pro SP3 without a hitch. It was only when I tried to run the diagnostics to look at a disk problem that I ran into the errors.

- Rick

0 Kudos
OrangeBeard
Bronze

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

Hi, Thanks for posting this issue; we ran into it yesterday. I was ready to swap out the motherboard, but booting from a USB boot drive and rolling back to A09 corrected the original problem. However now the primary hard drive failed; it's clicking, threw beep code 1-4-1, and gave the error code 2000-0141: No Drive Detected. Pretty odd that both issues occurred at the same time, but either way, still has 15 days left of warranty.

Source for creating USB boot drive:

Download WinSetupFromUSB0.1.1 : http://www.datafilehost.com/download-288440e0.html

Download and install WinSetupFromUSB0.1.1. Run app.
Select HP Format Tool
Format Options - Create a DOS Startup Disk, using DOS system files located at:

I pointed the path to a USB FDD which had a dos 6.22 boot disk inserted. Whola!

This creates a USB Boot stick with only command.com, IO.sys and MSDOS.sys. I used this on a SUN Server so I could upgrade the Firmware on a PCIe Qlogic HBA.

http://blogs.sun.com/dragonfly/entry/dos_bootable_usb_flash_drive

0 Kudos
RoHe
Diamond

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

And you did unplug that USB drive before rebooting..?

Before you toss the hard drive, you may want to clear BIOS.

Power off and unplug

Press/hold power button on tower for ~15 sec

Open the case and remove the motherboard battery

Press/hold power button again for ~30 sec

Reinstall the battery (right-side-up!)

Reboot and open BIOS setup. Make sure the boot hard drive is first in the boot sequence. Save any changes and exit setup.

Does it boot up now?

Ron

Ron

Forum Member since 2004
I am not a Dell employee

0 Kudos
craggs
Bronze

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

Thank you RickA3 for the post.

I encountered the same problem today. I started having problems with a different machine and thought I would run diagnostics on the T3400 just as a precaution.

I cannot recall for sure but I thought I ran Dell's diagnostics on the T3400 before without any problem (maybe I did before upgrading to A11).

I have not yet flashed back to A09. The A11 version does fix some problems that I would like to keep fixed but the diagnostic failures do concern me.

I hope Dell will fix this -- it's a tough decision whether to stay on A11 or rollback to A09.

Thanks again for the post.

0 Kudos
RoHe
Diamond

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

@RickA3

Did a Dell forum Liasion ever contact you about this issue? I flagged it for them, but I don't see any posts from them. Maybe they need another poke. 

Ron

Ron

Forum Member since 2004
I am not a Dell employee

0 Kudos
RoHe
Diamond

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

Consider them poked. 

Ron

Ron

Forum Member since 2004
I am not a Dell employee

0 Kudos
RickA3
Copper

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

Ron,

Thanks. I've never heard anything from them.

Rick

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator

Re: Precision T3400 BIOS A11 problem

Jump to solution

All,

This was escalated awhile back. They are working on a new Bios to address this. No ETA on a release date.

0 Kudos