Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

January 26th, 2019 12:00

Inspiron 7777 AIO, upgrade RAM and SSD

Hi :) Hope someone can shed a light on this for me, as I'm a previous mac-user and have limited experience with Windows-machines.

I've got a Dell Inspiron AIO 7777 with 16 gigs of RAM and 256 GB m.2 SSD. I've gotten help to purchase to new RAM chips that's 16 GB each to upgrade to 32 GB. As far as I'm aware, this should be quite easy to upgrade myself. 

But recently I've experienced trouble installing plugins for Adobe on the C-drive, and I would like to upgrade the SSD as well. I'm looking at this, quite expensive, but looks like what I need: Samsung SSD 970 PRO 1TB NVMe M.2. 

But if I'm to replace the SSD, I would need to reinstall Windows, right? What kind of backup should I take of my current system to ensure that I can reboot and have Windows and my software on the new harddrive? I've never done anything like this before, so I'm hoping someone can advise me on which methods to use, or if this is something I should have someone else do for me. 

Thank you,

Cathrine :)

21 Posts

February 23rd, 2019 02:00

I ran into my first issue. When I choose my external drive (H:) as destination for my Image, it tells me that the destination is part of my image and to choose a different folder. It would not give me an option to create a new folder on my drive, so I rebooted and made a new folder. I got the same error. Do I need to wipe the drive before booting in to Macrium? Or perhaps connect the drive after boot?

Still optimistic :)

21 Posts

February 23rd, 2019 06:00

Could it be that the partition allocated to C: is only 222GB? How would I change this now that I have a much larger drive?

21 Posts

February 23rd, 2019 06:00